The Deputy Mayor

Councillor John Burns
Councillor Tony Brown

Profile for Councillor John Burns, Deputy Mayor of Haverhill

A full profile will appear here soon.

Councillor John Burns has been elected by his fellow Councillors to be the Town's Deputy Mayor for the 2018/2019 administration period.

Profile for Councillor Tony Brown, Deputy Mayor of Haverhill

Tony was born in Greenwich but his family moved to Haverhill’s Parkway estate in 1961 when he was one year old as part of the New Town Expansion scheme. He attended firstly Cangle school, then Place Farm (on it's opening day), then Chalkstone Middle School (also on it's opening day) as the first year to go through the new comprehensive three tier system, then finally onto Castle Manor School.

When Tony left school he joined the Army and was trained at the Army Apprentices college in Chepstow before serving seven years with the Royal Engineers at various locations in the UK, Germany, Canada and the Falkland Islands.

On leaving the Army he worked on various civil engineering schemes in the UK and abroad before starting his own site investigation and well drilling business in Haverhill in the mid 1980s which he continues to do to this day.

Tony is married to Angela and has three grown up children, Naomi, Edward and Harry.

Tony has lived most of his life in the town and has seen the changes over the years from a small market town with a railway, to a town that had a large amount of manufacturing and industry, to a town that is now largely warehousing, service industries, commuter-orientated and once again expanding rapidly.

Tony was firstly elected to Suffolk County Council to represent Haverhill East & Kedington in 2013. He now serves on St. Edmundsbury Borough Council and Haverhill Town Council; both representing Haverhill East.

Tony is passionate about the town where he has many family and friends and wants to make a great friendly town even better.

Councillor Tony Brown has been elected by his fellow Councillors to be the Town's Deputy Mayor for the 2017/2018 administration period.